Assam Assembly Elections : 77% voter turnout in Phase 1 of polls

Assam Assembly Elections : 77% voter turnout in Phase 1 of polls

Guwahati: In the first phase of Assam assembly elections that ended on Saturday, an estimated of 78.89% voter turnout were recorded across the 47 constituencies.

Voters were seen standing in long queues outside the polling stations adhering to COVID-19 protocols.

While polling so far has been peaceful, but some complaints of EVM glitches were lodged in constituencies of Rupohihat and Gohpur.

The fate of political heavyweights like chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal, Asom Gana Parisad ministers Atul Bora and Kesab Mahanta, peasant leader Akhil Gogoi, AJP president LurinJyoti Gogoi would be sealed in today’s ballot boxes.

Congress leaders like Ripun Bora would also try his luck from Gohpur seat along with party leader Debabrata Saikia from Nazira, AICC secretary Bhupen Borah from Bihpuria, and former ministers Bharat Narah from Naoboicha, Pranatee Phukan from Naharkatiya, and Rakibul Hussain from Samaguri.

BJP candidates like Assam Assembly Speaker Hitendra Nath Goswami (Jorhat), ministers Ranjit Dutta (Behali), Naba Kumar Doley (Jonai), and Sanjoy Kishan (Tinsukia) are also in the fray for the first phase of assembly elections.

Altogether, 264 candidates, including 23 women, are in the fray in the first phase of elections. Among them, 78 independent candidates are on the fray.

A total of 81,09,815 general electors were enrolled for the first phase, out of whom, 40, 77,210 were males, 40, 32,481 were females and 124 were transgender.

The second phase of the Assam assembly will be held on April 1 and the third phase will be held on April 6.