BTC Polls: Promod Boro swearing-in as BTC Chief on Tuesday

BTC Polls: Promod Boro swearing-in as BTC Chief on Tuesday

Guwahati:, Dec 14, 2020 Pramod Boro, United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) president to be appointed as the next Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) chief on Tuesday.  

Assam government announced that the swearing-in ceremony of the new executive council was slated to be held on December 15, at Bodofa Nwgwr in Kokrajhar in presence of Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal and finance minister Himanta Biswa Sarma.

Also Read BTC Polls Breaking: NDA to form next BTC

The swearing-in ceremony would be held amidst claims and counterclaims by both BJP-UPPL- Gana Suraksha Party (GSP) led coalition and Hagrama Mohilary led Bodoland People’s Front (BPF).

On Sunday, Assam Governor Jagdish Mukhi accepted the request for the formation of the new Executive council to BTC with Boro as the new chief of BTC in response to the formal request made by the elected members of the UPPL, BJP and GSP.

WhatsApp Image 2020 12 14 at 2.06.41 PM

Boro said, “People voted for change and we will work for their aspirations. Its’ time to work for the upliftment of all communities residing in the BTC.”

On the other hand, BPF which emerged as the single largest party with 17 sets out of 40 too claimed its stake to form the next Executive council. In a letter to the Governor, the BPF has sought a week’s time from the Governor to prove its majority on the floor.

Mohilary said, “Since BPF and BJP are already in alliance, BPF claiming to form the government with BJP’s support.”  He also hinted that several winning candidates were also unhappy with the alliance of UPPL, BJP and GSP and wanted to withdraw their support to the new coalition.

The UPPL won 12 seats,  BJP won 9 seats and 1 seat by Gana Suraksha Party (GSP) led by Kokrajhar MP Naba Kumar Sarania out of 40 council seats.

Disclaimer: This is a syndicated post and published without any changes except for the headlines