Dissent within coalition lawmakers delayed proposed Cabinet reshuffle in Manipur

Dissent within coalition lawmakers delayed proposed Cabinet reshuffle in Manipur

Image may contain: 6 people

Imphal: Manipur Chief Minister Shri N Biren’s long term plan to reshuffle its Council of Ministers hits another rough weather. The reshuffle schedule for yesterday evening has been delayed as Biren experienced stiff opposition within the  coalition partners of  BJP government and among BJP lawmakers.

As the Government initiated due procedure to remove some Cabinet Ministers and induct MLAs in their places, the four BJP Ministers and the four NPP Ministers raised strong objections and it sparked serious conflicts within the Government.

Assembly Speaker Y Khemchand also turned down an offer to be inducted into the Council of Ministers.

Soon after arriving at Imphal, BJP National vice-president Bijaiyant Panda and Rajat Sethi , Advisor to CM initiated due process for Ministry reshuffle. Jay Panda also held multiple discussions with the existing cabinet ministers in the evening. 

A well placed source informed that the four BJP Ministers may take a final decision to resign from the membership of Manipur Legislative Assembly in case any one of them is forced to resign from the Council of Ministers without his/her consent. The four Cabinet Ministers of BJP are Th Biswajit, Th Radheshyam, V Hangkhanlian and Nemcha Kipgen.

NPP too has four Ministers, Y Joykumar, Letpao Haokip, L Jayantakumar and N Kayisii. One of them said that they would not accept any attempt to segregate them. We will remain with the Government or leave it together”, said the NPP Minister.

According to a reliable source, Okram Henry and Oinam Lukhoi may be inducted to the cabinet today while the rest will be done at later point in time.