Nagaland by-elections:11 candidates files nomination for 2 seats

Nagaland by-elections:11 candidates files nomination for 2 seats

Nagaland by-elections
Intending candidates for by-elections to the 14-Southern Angami assembly constituency file their nomination papers on October 16. 

Kohima, Oct. 16 : At least 11 candidates filed their nomination papers on Friday for the upcoming Nagaland by-elections for the vacant assembly seats of 14-Southern Angami-I and 60 Pungro-Kiphire, scheduled for November 3.

Out of the 11, seven nominations were filed for 60-Pungro-Kiphire A/C, and the remaining four were for 14-Southern Angami-I A/C.

Four political parties; BJP, NDPP, NPCC, and NPF — had already announced their main candidates for the upcoming Nagaland by-elections. Subsequently, tickets were issued to the respective candidates.

Besides the four candidates already declared, seven new candidates filed their nomination papers on the last day, including five Independent candidates — four candidates for Pungro-Kiphire and one for Southern-Angami-I — and one substitute candidates each from NDPP and BJP. 

The four candidates for Southern Angami-I A/C are Medo Yhokha (NDPP’s main candidate), Neizosie-o Rhutsu (NDPP’s substitute candidate), Kikovi Kirha (NPF), and an Independent candidate, Seyievilie Peter Zashumo.

As for Pungro-Kiphire A/C, the candidates who have filed nominations include Khaseo Anar (NPCC), Lirimong Sangtam (BJP’s main candidate), Y Yankiu Yimchunger (BJP’s substitute candidate), and four Independent candidates — K Shellumthong Yimchunger, Lithriyem Depongle, T Yangseo Yimchunger, and S Kiusumew Yimchunger.

Scrutiny of nomination papers will be conducted on Saturday and last date for withdrawal of candidature is October 19 (Monday).