NPP, BJP, Cong demands repoll in Tamei

Imphal, March 06 2022:
Supporters  of NPP, BJP and Congress have demanded to conduct repoll at 52/62 Thiulon and 52/37 Impa polling stations in Tamei (ST) Assembly .

Villagers of Thiulon also staged a protest, alleging that Naga People’s Front (NPF) supporters prevented supporters of the National People’s Party to cast their votes and restricted entry of some voters at a polling site under 52-Tamei AC.

Speaking to media persons during a sit-in protest staged at Tamenglong DC office complex, the protesters claimed that NPF activists banned supporters of other parties from casting their vote at the two polling stations.

It is reported that the Returning Officer of Tamenglong had a closed door meeting with the agitators.

Four candidates are in the fray in 52-Tamei assembly constituencies, including Naga People’s Front candidate Forest Minister Awangbow Newmai, National People’s Party candidate Z Kikhonbou and BJP candidate Wilubou Newmai and INC candidate GN Kumuiteung.

All the gates of Tamenglong Mini Secretariat complex were sealed in the evening as more agitators arrived there in the evening.