Political realignment ahead of Manipur by polls: Former BJP leader Salam Joy joins Congress

Political realignment ahead of Manipur by polls: Former BJP leader Salam Joy joins Congress

Salam Joy
Salam Joy of Wangoi AC joins Congress

Imphal, September 23 2020:  Former Manipur Pradesh BJP Vice-President, Salam Joy Singh joined Congress. He is an Ex-MLA from Wangoi Assembly seat who unsuccessfully contested on a BJP ticket in 2017. He lost to Oinam Lukhoi then Congress MLA who recently resigned from MLA ship and joined BJP.  He rose to fame as a “giant killer” when he defeated the then Manipur Chief Minister Wahengbam Nipamcha in Assembly polls. Recently Oinam Lukhoi from Wangoi Assembly segment joined BJP and is likely to be inducted into council of ministers after the reshuffle.

Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader and ex-Chief Minister Okram Ibobi has stated that some MLAs have betrayed the trust of voters by jumping from one party to another within a term of five years. He was speaking at a reception function held at the Congress Bhavan here today in honour of BJP Manipur Pradesh former vice-president Salam Joy and seven others from Lilong AC who have joined the Congress party a new.

The seven others are Khadijan Bibi, Muhammad Hassan, Azizul Haque Khan, Abdul Zabir Khan, Liyaqat Ali Khan, Sayed Ahamad and Dr Syed Burhanuddin.

People elected their representatives for a term of five years to take up different development programmes and welfare schemes but some of these representatives have been hopping from one party to another thereby creating serious troubles for the State, said the former Chief Minister.

He urged the people of the particular Assembly segments which have been left unrepresented in the State Assembly to ask their ex-MLAs as to why they jump from one party to another and what benefit did they bring for the masses.

Salam Joy who has joined Congress after quitting BJP said that Wangoi AC has been left unrepresented after the incumbent MLA left his parent party and joined another. He claimed that he joined Congress party to strengthen the party and serve the people of Wangoi AC meaningfully.

Apart from O Ibobi, MPCC president Moirangthem Okendro, MLA Gaikhangam, MLA Govindas Konthoujam, MLA K Ranjit, MLA N Loken, MLA Th Lokeshwar, MLA DK Korungthang and many MPCC office bearers attended the function.