Manipur Film Awards MANIFA 2020 held at Kakching

Manipur Film Awards MANIFA 2020 held at Kakching

Prize distribution for 9th MANIFA held at Kakching
Prize distribution for 9th MANIFA held at Kakching

Kakching, February 07 2021: The annual Manipuri Film Awards (MANIFA) 2020 was held today at the auditorium of Library and Information Centre, Kakching.

The programme jointly organised by Thouna Manipur and Film Forum Manipur

A one minute silence was observed before the beginning of the function for the soul of actress Dhanamanjuri, who recently passed away.

The 9th edition of MANIFA was originally scheduled to be held on March 22, 2020 but it was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The winners of the festival were finally announced online on July 12, 2020 .

Speaking at the programme, Yengkhom Nilachandra said films have a deeper impact on society than any other form of art, so filmmakers should be wary of the films they are producing.

He added that there were plans to jointly organise the 9th and 10th edition of MANIFA, however, as the number of films in 2020 was very less due to the lockdown, the 10th MANIFA is being put on hold until further notice.

The prizes for various categories are as follows-

  • Best Manipuri Feature Film: ‘Eikhoisibu Kanano’, produced by Brojendro Yumnam and directed by Ajit Yumnam;
  • Best Actor in Supporting Role (Female): N Reena (Echadi Manini);
  • Best Actor in Supporting Role (Male): Wanglenthoiba (Mamal Naidraba Thamoi);
  • Best Costume: Amar Luwang (Eikhoisibu Kanano);
  • Best Make up: Dabo Wangkheimayum (Eikhoisibu Kanano);
  • Best Lyrics: Ajit Yumnam (Tamna Uriba Loibi Chingshang);
  • Best Playback Singer (Female): Roji Heishnam (Nungshikhreda Nungshibi Nangse);
  • Best Playback Singer (Male): Deepu Khunung (Tamna Uriba Loibi Chingshang);
  • Best Music Director: A Gopeshwor (Eikhoisibu Kanano);
  • Best Audiography: Shananda Sharma (Pandam Ama);
  • Best Background Score: Rk Birendrajit and Karnajit Laishram (Pandam Amada);
  • Best Actor in Leading Role (Female): Biju Ningombam (Ei Actor Natte) and Hijam Bala (Inamma);
  • Best Actor in Leading Role (Male): A Gokul (Inamma);
  • Best Direction: Ajit Yumnam (Eikhoisibu Kanano);
  • Best Art Director: Irom John Meitei (Pandam Ama);
  • Best Cinematography: Dhan Luwang (Pandam Ama);
  • Best Editing: L Mohendro Kams (Ei Actor Nate);
  • Best Screenplay: Ajit Yumnam (Eikhoisibu Kanano);
  • Best Story: Nabakumar Nongmeikapam (Eikhoisibu Kanano);
  • Best Choreographer: Babycha Salam (Inamma);
  • Best Feature film in Tribal Dialect: Makanmni Ramror, produced and directed by Charawui Rai Film;
  • Best Actor in Tribal Dialect Film: Aboi Chothe (Lungset Um Zouzam);
  • Best actress in Tribal Dialect Film: Angel Shimrah (Charawui Rai);
  • Special Jury Award: Amar Mayanglambam (Ichadi Manini);
  • Special Mention Award: Alwin Lankham of Charawui Rai Film; Maipak Sanahal Jagoi
  • Lifetime Award 2020: Ningombam Madhabi, Heirangoi Thong, Imphal West;
  • Neta Irabot Lilaroi Life Time Award (Sumang Lila): B Jugolchandra, Keishamthong Hodam Leirakta;
  • Neta Irabot Lilaroi Lifetime Award (Cinema): Moirangthem Nilamani, Sagolband Salam Leikaida.