Tribal Students Union Manipur appeals to put on hold eviction notice to 6 Churches built on encroached land

Tribal Students Union Manipur appeals to put on hold eviction notice to 6 Churches built on encroached land

image 1

Imphal, January 07 2021: The All Tribal Students’ Union Manipur (ATSUM) has appealed to the Manipur government to put on hold an order to evict 6 Churches in the New Checkon, Tribal Colony for sometime.

Speaking to media persons, ATSUM general secretary SR Andria said that land allotment for 188 religious structures located in Imphal East, Imphal West, Thoubal, Bishnupur and Churachandpur districts were regularized by an order issued by the State Government on October 27, 2011 .However, no Church was included in the regularization of land allotted to religious structures. They question decision and asked whether the principle of secularism was thrown to the wind when the land allotment was regularized, Andria said.

An order passed by the Supreme Court on September 29, 2009 directed all States and Union Territories not to allow construction of religious structures on public streets, public parks and other public places.

A subsequent order passed by the apex Court on February 16, 2020 further directed all States and Union Territories to frame a policy on removal, relocation and regularisation of unauthorised religious structures, Andria said.

Acting on the Supreme Court’s order, the Manipur Policy for Review of Unauthorised Construction of Religious Nature on Public Parks, Public Places etc, 2010 was framed on April 3, 2010 .

This was followed by regularisation of 188 religious structures/places by the Secretariat, Revenue Department on October 27, 2011, said the ATSUM executive. He then appealed to the State Government to review the order issued on October 27, 2011 and issue a new, inclusive order.

Until such a new inclusive order is issued, the notice issued by the SDO Porompat for eviction of Churches from New Checkon Tribal Colony should be kept on hold, he said.

The State Cabinet adopted a decision on September 15 last year to construct multi-storeyed Government residential quarters at the Tribal Colony. At present, there are six Churches within the colony.