Manipur Cabinet Reshuffle: Six Ministers sacked, 3 BJP MLAs & 2 non-MLAs from Congress inducted as Ministers

Manipur Cabinet Reshuffle: Six Ministers sacked, 3 BJP MLAs & 2 non-MLAs from Congress inducted as Ministers

Six Ministers sacked from BJP and Coalition Partners, 3 BJP MLAs & 2 non-MLAs(Ex-MLAs from Congress) inducted as Ministers. Nemcha Kipgen, lone woman minister also sacked.

Imphal, September 24 2020: Five new ministers were inducted into the BJP-led coalition Government headed by Chief Minister N Biren.

New ministers were inducted as Cabinet Ministers after six Cabinet Ministers were forcefully removed from the Council of Ministers.

The five MLAs/ex-MLAs who have been sworn in as Cabinet Ministers are

  1. S Rajen (Lamsang AC, BJP MLA),
  2. Vungzagin Valte (Thanlon AC, BJP MLA),
  3. Th Satyabrata (Yaiskul AC, BJP MLA),
  4. Oinam Lukhoi (Wangoi AC, Ex-Congress MLA) and
  5. Okram Henry (Wangkhei AC, Ex-Congress MLA and nephew of CLP leader O Ibobi) .

 O Lukhoi and O Henry joined BJP recently after they resigned from both Congress party and Manipur Legislative Assembly. They were elected on Congress tickets in 2017.Earlier in the day, three Ministers from BJP, two from NPP and one from LJP were dropped from the Council of Ministers.

The three BJP Ministers who have been dropped are Education Minister Th Radheshyam, Social Welfare Minister Nemcha Kipgen and Agriculture Minister V Hangkhanlian.

  • Two NPP Ministers who have been ousted from the Council of Ministers are Health & Family Welfare Minister L Jayantakumar and Tribal Affairs Minister N Kayisii.
  • The lone LJP Minister Karam Shyam who was in-charge of Revenue and CAF&PD was also shown the door.

After the five MLAs/ex-MLAs were sworn in as Cabinet Ministers, Governor Dr Najma Heptulla administered the oath of office and secrecy to each one of them one by one at the Raj Bhavan.

Even though BJP National vice-president Bijaiyant Panda and BJP North East in-charge Ajay Jamwal attended the swearing in ceremony, most Cabinet Ministers and MLAs of the ruling parties were not present at the gathering.

Assembly Speaker Y Khemchand reportedly declined the minister post when Chief Minister offered it to him.

With this reshuffle, Imphal east district has four Ministers including Chief Minister, followed by 3 in Imphal West, one each in Chandel, Tamenglong, Churachandpur and Senapati. The districts with zero ministers are Bishnupur, Thoubal, Ukhrul, Noney, Tengnoupal, Kamjong, Kangpokpi, Pherzawl, Kakching and Jiribam.

Government has no woman minister after dropping of the lone woman minister Nemcha Kipgen

Speaking to media persons before the oath taking ceremony, Chief Minister N Biren claimed that the Ministry reshuffle was a routine programme of the State Government and it was effected with concurrence of the Centre.

He was confident that the Ministry reshuffle would enable the State march ahead on the path of development. Being a coalition Government, there was some communication gap but it was settled before the Ministry reshuffle was effected, Biren said.

S Rajen said that reshuffling of Cabinet Ministers periodically is a tradition for BJP. He also conveyed gratitude to Chief Minister N Biren for inducting the five MLAs into the Council of Ministers so that the Government can function more effectively.

Rajen said that he would work for uniform development of the hills and the valley under the leadership of Chief Minister N Biren in close coordination with other Ministers and the MLAs who could not get Ministerial berths.

Hailing Chief Minister N Biren for inducting them into the Council of Ministers, O Lukhoi, O Henry and Th Satyabrata expressed keen desire to do some significant works in the interest of the State and the people of Manipur.

Bijaiyant Panda maintained that the Ministry reshuffle was effected to further consolidate the Government and expedite development works in Manipur.

Pointing out that one Minister is yet to be sworn in, he hinted that the vacant Ministerial berth may be filled up after the by-election.

Also read